Govt. should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

These days, Government spending is a crucial topic to discuss. Some say Government should contribute their funds for the development of railway rather than roads. I believe, Government should invest in both mediums as both are the most commonly used medium of transportation. Spending on one area may undervalue the importance of other. Contributions to the betterment of the railway infrastructure is instrumental for the citizens of the country in many ways. This is because many local people use this medium to travel from one city to other city. It’s a great source of tax revenue for the Government. It carry a lot of people in one point of time. For instance in my hometown most people from low income group travel to their hometown cities to meet their relatives or to celebrate any festival would use railway as their source of transportation. Furthermore, railways are environment friendly, as they emit less pollution than the road vehicles. On the other side, Roads are a means of transporting with in and outside the city from one city to other. without travelling via roads one cannot reach any place in the city. If government extend their funds in this area then it will be beneficial for all in general. Hence, road is used for any daily life purpose, like visiting shopping malls, going office for work or travelling occasionally like going from one city to another. we cannot undermine the importance and position of roads in our daily life. For commuting to some places, railway travel is not available For example we can use road to visit our nearest shops for groceries, as railway transport is not available neither feasible for such shorter distances. It can be concluded, that both railway and roads are useful for the citizens and are an important way of commuting. Therefore, I think Government should spend appropriate funds on the development of the rail and road infrastructure. As by doing so will have a great boost to the economy and will also reduce commuting issues for general public.