Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

Over the past few decades, there has been a dramatic change in transportation methods. There are various opinions as to whether governments should invest more money in rail network or in roads. Yet, there are some disagreement with the mentioned notion; I am of the opinion that an equal budget should be allocated to both of them for several reasons, which are discussed in this essay. There are some reasons linked to why it is beneficial to spend more money on railways than roads. First and foremost, it is a well-established fact that modern trains are known as eco-friendly means of transportation on the ground of using electric or steam power. In other words, trains do not emit pollution as much as cars, and thus, they can play an integral (prominent) role in societies to curb emissions. Moreover, trains can carry more passengers compared with vehicles in a short amount of time without getting stuck in traffic congestion or having an accident. This, in turn, has a significant effect on long journeys. As a result, it seems that communities, in general, city dwellers, in particular, can reap the great benefits of travelling by train, which is a justification to fund train’s infrastructure more. Conversely, people cannot travel by train everywhere because of train stations' limitation; therefore, they prefer to drive their cars. To do so, it appears that governments should allocate more budgets for the development of roads’ infrastructures. Indeed, existing network does not have enough capacity for such large volumes of vehicles making traffic jams inevitable, especially during rush hours. Hence, spending more money on constructing more capable roads and highways can be seen as the best option to mitigate the severity of the given problem. In conclusion, it seems that although trains would have more outstanding benefits, I reaffirm again that due to the aforementioned reasons, governments should invest the money equally in both sectors.