Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

In today's fast moving economy, it is very important to delivery goods as early as possible and also at the low cost. Secondaly, people travelling are expecting to travel great distance in the short amount of time. Both the roads and railways plays important role in catering to these requirements. Building road networks and highways have its advantages. For example, public and private entities can use roads by paying tall tax. This becomes a source of income for the government which can be used in maintenance and new road construction. The road network have reach to the interior parts. However, road transporation and commutation takes more time and at times very expensive. On the other hand, railways provide fast transporation and requires less amount of time. In addition, we can transport goods in great volume and more people can travel by a train at the give point of time. Moreover, it costs less to travel by train. Also, the freight charges are relatively low. Despite these advantages, it requires more resources to build the railway infrastructure and maintain it. Another drawback, which is often mentioned, is that private sector cannot utilize or contribute in expanding railways. In my openion, these limitations can be easily overcome by implementing new polices. It will allow private players ti take active part in railway network expansion, and increasing its reach to the interior parts. To conclude, the government should not only spend money on railway but also create enviornment where private industries can also contribute to its betterment.