Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam” How true do you think this statement is? What measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is true that the automobile ownership quickly went up over the last three decades. It is the number one cause of traffic congestion in urban areas in many countries of the world. We cannot figure the number of car to deal with this issue. but, the government should have other ideas to convince individuals to abstain using their own transport about in order to reduce the traffic jam. 4-69 It is true that the automobile ownership quickly went up over the last three decades. It is the number one cause of traffic congestion in urban areas in many countries of the world. I believe that the government should focus on better mass transport systems and encourage smaller personal vehicles. 3-50 The demand for automobile purchase has expanded awfully and it makes car companies produce and release a large quantity of cars production as well. At the same time, the government does not provide the unbiased basic facilities, such as the street space and alternative motorways. Consequently, it is normal that traffic overcrowding happens because the number of cars is not corresponding to the facility provided. Another reason is that the cars are not high priced and its affordable for the people so they can buy car easily. 4-87 The demand for automobiles has expanded tremendously, so car companies produce a large quantity of units as well. This is compounded when the authorities do not build enough roads and other infrastructure. Consequently, it is normal that vehicular overcrowding happens because the number of cars does not correspond to the facilities provided. Another reason is that the cars today are cheaper because of mass-manufacturing. This can be seen in countries such as India and China. They have grown their car manufacturing industry, but this has also resulted in some of the worst traffic conditions in the world. 6-97 In my opinion, there are so many movements that government can take just to solve from this complicated problem. Firstly, while the vehicle corporations produce their cars, the government should construct and develop the road framework in order to give enough space for many vehicles to minimise the over crowding of traffic. Secondly, the government can collaborate with the car companies in producing small smart cars. The advance technology today is sufficient to create an innovation in car production. Lastly is that government should provide many alternative transportations for the public such as trans-city buses, sky trains, and underground trains which offer better, safer, faster and more affordable transportation facilities. As a result, people will tend to choose public transportations than using their own cars. Therefore, the traffic jam will substantially reduce. 6-132 In my opinion, there are so many steps that our leaders can take to solve this serious issue. Firstly, they should improve the road infrastructure in order to give enough space for vehicles. Secondly, the government can collaborate with the car companies in producing smaller smart cars. This advanced technology can create an innovation in car production. Lastly, the government should provide many alternative transportations for the public such as transcity buses, sky trains, and subways which offer better, safer, faster and more affordable transportation options. As a result, commuters will tend to choose public transportation rather than use their own cars. 5-102 To conclude, car possession could not be circumscribed by restricting people from buying it, as evident in the last three decades. Rather more effective ways to tackle the heinous traffic congestion are there that government might select to tackle that issue. 2-41 To conclude, congestion is now one of the major problems on Earth but it can be solved by producing smaller cars and improving public transportation networks. 1-26