Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that governments ought to provide budget to build more railroads rather than roadways. From my perspective, I completely agree that more railroads should be developed by the authorities rather than roads and highways, because trains are perfect options to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. To commence with, investing in railway systems would be one of great methods to tackle congested traffic. First, it is obvious that the development of rail transportations has an impact on reducing traffic congestion. This is mainly because, if the government provides more proper train systems in a city, people will switch the way they transport – from using private vehicles to using trains. As a result, not only does it have an impact on declining of traffic density, but also an impact on faster commuting time. Take for an instance, the government of Jakarta has developed electric locomotive (KRL) and mass rapid train (MRT) systems for alternative transportations within the city, in consequence there is a considerable improvement in the traffic congestion in Jakarta. Furthermore, the other reason why the government should develop more railways is, because locomotives tend to be more environmentally friendly than private cars. As we know, most modern train systems are operated by electricity, thus they do not cause air pollution due to fossil fuel combustion and exhaust fumes. In addition, the use of the trains also considerably helps reduce the noise pollution in the city. To sum up, based on the aforesaid explanation, it is clear that the government should allocate more funds for rail tracks rather than roads and highways. I would say, I have no objection to this opinion because without a doubt the train systems would be significant solutions to solve problems related to traffic and environment.