Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

In today's fast-moving economy, it is very important to deliver goods as early as possible and also at a low cost. Secondly, people traveling are expecting to travel a great distance in a short amount of time. Both the roads and railways plays important role in catering to these requirements. Building road networks and highways have its advantages. For example, public and private entities can use roads by paying tall tax. This becomes a source of income for the government which can be used in maintenance and new road construction. The road network has reach to the interior parts. However, road transportation and commutation takes more time and at times very expensive. On the other hand, railways provide fast transportation and require less amount of time. In addition, we can transport goods in great volume and more people can travel by train at the given point of time. Moreover, it costs less to travel by train. Also, the freight charges are relatively low. Despite these advantages, it requires more resources to build the railway infrastructure and maintain it. Another drawback, which is often mentioned, is that the private sector cannot utilize or contribute in expanding railways. In my opinion, these limitations can be easily overcome by implementing new policies. It will allow private players to take an active part in railway network expansion, and increasing its reach to the interior parts. To conclude, the government should not only spend money on the railway but also create an environment where private industries can also contribute to its betterment.