Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent times, as traffic congestion has become one of the major issues, transportation infrastructure is required to be ameliorated. Thus, it is argued that the the government ought to augment the expenditure on the construction of more railways in lieu of car roads. It is believed, in my opinion, that they should develop not only railways but also motorways. To commence with, There are a number of rationales for the development of railways. Firstly, the construction of roads for trains will have a positive influence on the environment. That is, numerous people still drive vehicles emitting pernicious gases, such as Carbon Dioxide, which is responsible for the increase in the level of air pollution. For instance, In Switzerland the Swiss government are currently expending more money on railroads in an attempt to keep the environment clean. Furthermore, a large number of people in urban areas take advantages of trains. In other words, Since the majority of amenities, such as educational institutes and workplace, are situated in metropolitan areas, more and more people commute to work or go to school. Nonetheless, the government are obliged to increase the expenditure on the amelioration of motorways. The major reason is that despite the government efforts, it is still difficult to solve traffic problems, as individuals still prefer to drive private vehicles due to its convenience. Therefore, People are still struggling with traffic congestion in the central city, especially in the early morning. In order to improve the traffic situation, The government should impose a much higher fine on those who have disobeyed traffic rules than before so that it will help prevent traffic crimes. In conclusion, although it would be expensive to construct more railroads, the government should increase the expenditure on the development of railways rather than motorways for the purpose of solving the environmental issues and traffic congestion.