Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

It is a debatable issue that whether the government should spend money on railways or building new roads. I think the government should spend more on roads but they should also spend some on railways. Spending money on the construction of new roads and maintenance of old roads will benefit the public in many ways. Firstly, it will reduce the problem of traffic. In cities, the problem of traffic arises due to lack of space on roads. As already existing roads are not sufficiently wide, it is difficult for cars to move freely. Also, the design of old roads is poorly done so there is the need of constructing new and better roads. Increase in the number of accidents due to improper roads is another reason. Number of poteholes rises on the road because of not proper maintenance of roads. Due to potholes on the roads, a number of car accidents take place every year. So, the government should allot money on road maintenance. However, railways are important too and there are many reasons why money should also be spent on railways. To begin with, railways are faster and efficient means of transport compared with automobiles. Railways are used not just for the transportation of humans but also for carrying goods from one place to another. Railways are faster because there is no issue of traffic on railway tracks. Also, railways reduces the problem of unemployment by providing jobs to the people. There are many sectors in railways where people can find jobs. Construction of railway stations create new job opportunities for public. To conclude, while spending money on roads is important, it is also crucial to allot some money to railways as it also provides benefits.