Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

A large amount of government fund is to be allocated for railways than roadways. I both agree and disagree with this statement because both railways and road ways are making ravelling affordable and comfortable as they are cheapest and modest mode of transportation preferred by all the people. Transportation has changed for past decades. There are four major travel ways they are roadways, railways, airways and waterways. Out of them the former two ways are most preferred by people in all the countries. Out of the total population, those who are in middle level are higher in number in this case equal consideration has to be given while spending or allocation money for the development of transportation. Railways helps people to travel within the country unless it got divided by some water source in between. In this scenario, spending money in railways helps to provide better service to the people by adding number of trains, building various routes for new cities and improving quality of the rails. For example, in India there are various trains going forward and backward to various cities, but still there is a huge demand for trains to reach some unknown small which requires to choose both road and rail transportation to reach that particular destination. On the other hand, roadways are the basic line for transportation because traveling with the nearby place is done frequently than travel to far places. So transports like buses, vans which is handled by governments needs to be undergone quality check regularly so that it will be good condition as it is used by n number of people daily. For example in Madurai the condition of public buses is very low compared to private buses. So this situation can be changed if the government concentrates more on road transports. To conclude, none of the transports has less importance in the day to day life of people but concentrating on the improvement of one particular transport kind will not have good result while considering as whole country. So I think that equal amount of money has to be spent on the transport which needs utmost care in the present.