More and more young people are interested in finding out about their family background and history. What are the possible reasons? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, studying about family genealogy is becoming more and more popular amongst youngsters. In my opinion, this development has certain positive impacts on proactively protect people’ health and the desire to be healthier is also the main reason behind this trend. To begin with, people, especially the young, are increasingly concerned about how to improve their health, so they learn their family medical background. The history of family pathology shows the diseases of parents, grandparents and ancestors, thereby discovering genetic diseases as well as assess the risk of having these illnesses to the next generation. Take my father as an example; after being acknowledged about the benefit of researching family history on a medical magazine, he found out that both his grandmother and mother suffered from a heart disease. Then he went for a health check and the result showed that he has a heart illness too. This trend reaches its aim and is really beneficial to enhance people’s well-being. Thanks to the early detection of diseases, people can apply treatment to reduce them and live a longer life. In my father’s case, after being aware of his illness, he usually goes to hospital and strictly follow the doctor’s instructions, as well as doing more exercise and eat more vegetables. The doctor said that his disease could become serious if not being discovered and my father continued working at stressful intensity like that. This story clearly illustrates the advantage of this tendency. In conclusion, I strongly believe that people should research on their family historical background in order to beforehand find out the inherited diseases they can be passed down from their family and treat them properly to be stronger.