Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

It is irrefutable that transportation is the lifeline of any country. Some people believe that authorities allocate more funds in railways instead of roads. I tend to agree with statement as using public transport is more affordable and reduces congestion. First and foremost, extending railway system means a lesser vehicle on the road. The construction of metro rail will help in getting rid of on road traffic, allowing people to reach places on time. For example, in a recent survey, the most congested cities around the world are Bangalore and Mumbai, and none of them have a great infrastructure for public transportation. As a consequence, people are stuck with taking taxi's. In contrast, Delhi, has an extended railway and is considered far better in terms of traffic. Another compelling advantage of railways is the cost. Railway around the world have been electrified and no more runs on fuel, which has mostly the cost of travelling, a lot more economical. To illustrate this, the cost of travelling by trains is less than $0. 25 per mile. While, it's above $1. 0 per mile by transit buses. As a result, people have started using subways, way more often than other. Also, investing in the subways will be cheaper for government as well, as this is one time investment and will only need maintenance. In contrast to roads, which needs a renewal every alternate year. In conclusion, despite roads being the primary source of transportation, since the ancient time. In my opinion, railways are the way to look forward as they take less time and are not heavy on the pocket.