Governments should invest more money in arts or athletics?

Governments play an important role in enhancing the welfare of the general public. Whether governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics can be weighed in many aspects. In my opinion, I do not concur with the statement that governments should invest more money in arts. Admittedly, some people will argue that arts are an essential element for people’s mental health. For example, in a competitive and heavy-stress society, watching an art exhibition or creating various art forms can help people release the pressure. However, the arts can only give people a channel to relax their inner side. For comprehensive development, sport is a better option for governments to focus on. First of all, the government’s support to athletics can provide people a thorough training and rich resource. For example, many famous athletes started their careers from a very young age, which means the school is a place to incubate those extraordinary people. The government should invest its budget in the athletics program. It can bring not only the plenitude resource and equipment for athletes’ training but also help students establish their mental and physical development. Since in the competitive environment, people tend to spend a long time on study or work and lack of adequate exercise. Therefore, the support of the athletics program in school can create benefits for students and potential players. On the other hand, if the government spends money on sponsoring a state Olympic team, it can bring many advantages to residents. For example, when a state-sponsored team wins a championship in races and presents impressive performance, those sports players can promote the fame and status of the state. Subsequently, those parents who wish their children develop a sports career will move into the state. Moreover, prominent sports brands will invest and open more stores in the state to sell their products. Not only the economic growth will be indebted to the consequence of the government’s investment, but also sports will become prevalent in the state. Consequently, the employee rate will rise and people in the state will live healthier. To sum up, the statement is not as persuasive as it stands. Based on my expositions mentioned above, I support the viewpoint that the government should spend more money to support the development of athletics because it can facilitate people to stay healthy and create potential economic growth simultaneously. Therefore, governments should not spend more money in support of the arts.