Governments regulation for recycling

For the past few years, due to the drastic environmental changes across the globe, and with aid of conservationist organizations, awareness of these issues has been rising to a considerable level. One of these topics, that allows households to have an impact, even if negligible, is recycling. Some hold the idea that the current rate of recycling done by people is not acceptable, and to improve so, governments should take action to enact some laws in order to regulate recycling. It might seem like a bold idea at first, but to get a better grasp, in this essay, feasibility and also some positive uses and drawbacks of this initiative will be examined. Firstly, let's consider an imaginary scenario in which, there will be a fine to pay for taking your garbage out unless you have separated it into different types for recycling. No matter how deep your concerns about the environment are, if you are asked to pay a ticket for your trash, you will most probably not tolerate it. Even though interference of authorities in some social issues seems necessary, but managing households' waste does not look like one. Despite all the negative impacts a mandatory initiative for recycling waste might have, or how the community would respond to it, this is not the only alternative for this matter. Since, in the context of recycling both the citizens and the state play an essential role, to elevate the current rate of recycling, active participation of both parties is needed. Instead of setting strict obligations, governments that have direct access to the means of mass media can ameliorate common understanding and social awareness of waste management. Furthermore, to encourage more support among different segments of society, different incentives for individuals could be helpful. All in all, just like any other prevalent challenge in today's world, recycling needs the attention of all of us, either at a micro level including individuals or at a macro level consisting of communities and governments. Considering the nature of the matter and its degree of importance, immediate regulation and mandatory projects might not lead to success; And on the contrary, educational programs to incentivize the community could go a long way to help individuals make a habit out of recycling.