Governments around the world are promoting the use of renewable sources of energy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Due to the growing wakefulness about the ramifications of pollution caused by fossil fuels, the world has suddenly shifted its focus to renewable energy, so much so that the authorities around the world are encouraging to exploit this energy. This essay will shed some light on advantages and disadvantages associated with this manner of thinking. Talking about the merits, the first and foremost is the capability of producing the required amount of energy without emitting any harmful gases. This not only assists to build a better environment for the future generations, but also generates employment for plethora of people. For Governments around the world are promoting the use of renewable sources of energy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? instance, using solar energy to produce electricity helps meet the everescalating demand for it without any carbon emissions, and at the same time, countless workers find jobs in the solar panel manufacturing sector. What is more, renewable energy sources are not finite since sources like sun and water will continue to deliver energy for a long time. On the flipside, fostering the use of non-conventional sources is not without its demerits. It is a very costly affair as the technology is still in nascent stage and demands considerable capital in the beginning. Additionally, these resources can be unreliable, for it is dependent on the weather conditions. For example, solar panels lose efficiency on cloudy days and wind turbines are not effective in calm weather. Moreover, even though these sources might have a zero-carbon footprint, their transportation and installation still rely heavily on platforms utilising conventional fuels, a major culprit in environment degradation. To sum it up, renewable sources are being endorsed due to their benefits of zero pollution and job creation; however, the drawback of huge initial investment definitely poses a big hurdle. Nonetheless, this should not deter anyone as it is the only way to safeguard our planet from rising pollution.