goverment should spend more money on railways rather than roadways

The modes of transportation have registered dramatic changes with the advent of the Industrial revolution. This changed the concept of transporting goods and people forever, connecting the world in a cheaper and more efficient manner. With time, governments across the globe have invested lots of time and money in providing quality means of transportation. Among the various modes of transportation, it is my personal opinion that more money should be spent on developing a wider network of railway and infrastructure with perhaps an equal focus on roadways too. Firstly, it is evident that a larger number of people can travel by rail, rather than cars or buses. The railways can also help in logistics and freight movement, where larger quantities of goods can be transported to various destinations quickly, as well as efficiently. Further, this could also result in travel expenses being reduced considerably. This could also translate into savings in time and manpower, which could further lead to the development of better and faster means of transport with the encouragement of the government. Secondly, considering the importance of human life, it is apparent that the fatality rates are higher in road transportation in comparison with railways. The rate of accidents occurring on roads is rising steadily every day and it will be a wise decision to consider gravitating towards other modes of travel. Train travel can greatly reduce traffic jams in busy commercial hubs which take a heavy toll on human life and can also contribute towards ease of movement for pedestrians. Added to this, pollution hazards can also be greatly reduced in days to come, where automobiles are the major source of these emissions. Moving to more eco-friendly vehicles can also aid greatly in reducing emissions and other pollutants. These options need to be considered and implemented by nations all AROUND THE WORLD. In conclusion, it is imperative that the government should also focus on developing new roads and highways, by adopting new designs and plans to reduce the number of accidents. All in all, more resources should be pumped into the development of new rail networks, thus reducing the burden on traditional means of transport, as this will be not only eco-friendly but also save on time and money.