Going abroad to study is becoming an increasingly more popular option for young people nowadays. What are the advantages & disadvantages of studying abroad for young people?

Nowadays many young people choose to pursue further education abroad. While there are clear benefits of making such a choice, the student may also experience the numerous obstacles that come with it. On the one hand, studying abroad has many advantages. Firstly countries with highly regarded higher esteem of learning methodologies can provide access to modern and advanced educational resources, which can result in achieving one’s goals and aspirations as well as improving career prospects. Furthermore, the enriching experience of a diverse culture can broaden a student’s horizons and develop open mindfulness of different ideas and concepts. Finally, interacting with native speakers can develop one’s language skills and help integrate into local culture. However, studying abroad can also have many downsides. For instance, young students may have difficulty adjusting to a different culture with its unfamiliar lifestyle and traditions, which can cause loneliness and homesickness. In addition to this language problems can be an issue not only in a student’s day-to-day life but also academically, which can result in difficulties understanding the learning material. Lastly, the cost of living abroad can be quite high. For example, the price of university tuition, accommodation and utilities can ultimately affect a student’s education. In conclusion, young people who choose to study abroad can benefit from the many cultural, academic and career prospects but can have a difficult time integrating into a different and challenging lifestyle. Despite the downsides, I firmly believe that the arguments for, far outweigh the arguments against.