Going abroad to study has become a new trend. Discuss advantages and disadvantages and state whether advantages outweigh disadvantages.

Going abroad for higher education has become increasingly popular in recent years. More and more students are willing to study overseas, hoping to secure a bright future for themselves. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of pursuing education from a foreign university and provide a logical conclusion. Students prefer studying abroad to their home country for numerous reasons. Some of the pros include, studying in a globally accredited educational institution with sophisticated infrastructure and facilities. Foreign varieties often offer, a much diverse syllabus than provincial institutes, moreover, experiencing life in a multicultural environment is also one of the perks of an oversees education. Interacting with people from different ethnic backgrounds can help build confidence, and the ability to perform smoothly in a culturally diverse ambience can add value to their curriculum vitae. Conversely, there are many drawbacks to studying away from their native countries. Students often experience a 'culture shock', when cut off from their familiar culture, environment and norms when living in a foreign society. They feel isolated and can go through distinct phases of euphoria, discomfort, adjustment and acceptance. They balk at making new connections and continually, cloister themselves away from company. However, joining clubs where people from the same background interact freely, or being more involved in academic collaborations can mitigate the effects of these disadvantages. To encapsulate, studying abroad can cause immense acculturation stress, yet can provide quality education and encourage ethnic inclusiveness. Therefore, youngsters who opt to graduate from an international varsity must focus on the positives of foreign education, and taking these facts into consideration, the demerits of an overseas education are superseded by the merits.