Global warming and the environment

Global warming and the greenhouse effect have become an existential issue for all the species on earth. For their personal reasons, number of people have developed a deeper concern for specific plants and animals, and others are more focused on the widespread greenhouse effects on the living creatures of the earth. The immediate effect of global warming is evident on flora and fauna as species are at the brink of extinction, such as the lions, tigers, and rhinoceros. Others point to the interrelationship between the entire ecosystem, and the collapse of one species can create a domino effect that can lead to the eradication of other species, including humans, from the planet earth. It is my opinion that the loss of specific species can be critical, addressing the causes of global warming is just as essential. There is no doubt that it is imperative to preserve every living species on the planet. Human activities have had a devastating impact on animals and plants as they undergo extinction at a faster rate than ever in the twenty-first century. For example, there is only a hand full of rhinoceros left in Africa because of poaching for their horn that is used in traditional medicine. Similarly, lions, tigers, and elephants are being hunted every day for trophies or their ivory. Furthermore, the rapid rate of deforestation as seen in the Amazon forests have put various life forms at risk. These losses can offset the natural balance of a vicious cycle that affect other life forms. Discussions on prioritizing the list of important changes to the environment has been ongoing for decades. Nevertheless, relevant questions every nation should be addressing include the causes of global warming, the solutions to mitigate such destructive changes, and the preservation of what is left. An example is the warming temperature in the Antarctic that leads to the loss of ice sheets which is causing a rise in the sea levels, declining the walrus species, reducing the landmass, and increasing the size of the tear in the ozone layer. To conclude, the loss of species of plants and animals and addressing other core issues are necessary. I am of the notion that every living creature on earth is relevant and therefore, the whole problem of environmental change should be addressed.