Giving much more stringent penalties for driving offences is supposed to be the only method for enhancing road safety.

Giving much more stringent penalties for driving offences is supposed to be the only method for enhancing road safety. Although I acknowledge it is an effective way to deter people from committing driving offences, I still considered that there are several better solutions to maintain safety on our roads. To begin with, harsher punishments can act as a deterrent to those who intend to commit driving offences. An obvious illustration of this is that in Vietnam, those who ride motorbikes without helmets will have to face monetary penalties. This makes them feel scared of being fined heavily so they will not commit other offences. Another benefit is that this measure will minimize the number of traffic accidents. For instance, in the past, various accidents lead to road casualties in China due to loose regulations. However, when stricter laws were imposed, there was a considerable decrease in the total number of traffic accidents. For these reasons, more stringent punishments are beneficial for improving road safety. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that there are two other ways that are also effective to achieve better road safety. Firstly, the government should raise people’s awareness through various media about the severe consequences of traffic offences. To illustrate, images and videos about serious injuries from traffic accidents should are often be updated on TV or the Internet through social networking sites. This will help people be more conscious as well as drive carefully, which contributes to reducing traffic accidents. Moreover, governments should encourage citizens to opt for public transport instead of private vehicles. For example, when people are drunk or tired after a hard day’s work, means of transportation such as buses or subways will be the best option for circumstances. This will prevent drunk driving as well as sleeping at the wheel and thus, reduce the risk of traffic accidents. In conclusion, I believe that stricter punishments are not the only way to enhance road safety. We also have two extremely effective methods to address this problem are heightening people’s awareness and encouraging people to use public transport.