giving money to school-aged children as a prize of their good grades

Giving prize to a child when they get a good grade motivates them to study. However, I think money is not an appropriate prize for a school-aged child. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay. First of all, a school-aged child may not know how to spend his or her money efficiently. He or she may use their money to buy things that they don’t really need. Therefore, they can’t learn to manage their money. For example, whenever my cousin gets a good mark, her parents give money to her. But she never tries to invest this money. She always use her prize to buy cloths which she doesn’t really need. Secondly, giving money to childeren for their good performance in school might lead them to think that the aim of studying is the money. To be more specific, they won’t study to be successful in future and. In long term, this cause a weak performance of the children in their class. As an example, when my cousin was younger, she wanted to be a doctor and she studied carefully. After a while she started to believe that studying won’t help her in the future. If her parents punish her for her weak performance at school, she says that If you give me more money as a prize, I will get a better mark on the next exam. In conclusion, giving money as a prize to encourage school-aged students is not suitable. This is because of the fact that children are not able to spend thie money efectively. In addition, they will lose the true goal of their education.