Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The key to eternal life, or at least the maximization of its span, is a mistery that keeps scientists and ordinary citizens wondering until today. But what are the dangers and benefits of unravelling the secret? The main motivation of prolonging our life is evident: More time. I reckon many people would agree that having more time to share with our families and the people we appreciate would be a crucial argument to consider a life expectancy-enhancing treatment. In addition, we would also have more opportunities to fulfill our most profound dreams. Someone might wish to become a famous artist, or another person perhaps aspires to earn a university degree at the age of 110. If scientists enable us to maintain our cognitive and physical abilities, could bring us great joy. On the other hand, though, this development could lead to societal disturbances. I suggest, it might be possible that only the rich people have the financial means to extend their life span, which could create and reinforce cleavages along socioeconomic lines. And even if any individual will have access to such technologies, the moral and ethic implications are severe. What do we live for if, eventually, we live for 200 or 2000 years? What happens to our planet if humans get so old and will there be enough young people to provide social security to the elderly? Those questions that in recent years have gained importance and are not limited to potential future scenarios. Economists, medical experts and environmental specialists alike are scrutinizing those issues. To sum up, I think, if we do not become cyborgs in the next few decades and have an ordinary life span, the disadvantages will be minor. However, if we do become nearly immortal this would lead to globally devastating consequences.