Give reasons for the popularity of reality TV in the recent years. Explain the effects on society and the social meaning of this trend.

Televisions have great impact on society since their introduction time. There are different programs that draws attention of people from different ages ranging from children to adults. There are some causes, as well as different effects of this trend. One of the fundamental reasons why reality TV is gaining popularity day by day is containing excitement and drama. These type of programmes are always making people wait for the next part. Taking into consideration that most of TV shows are not available frequently, such as once or twice a week, people have enough time making research and even create some scenarios on their mind which are considered as main causes of this trend. Another reason behind this is advertisements. Designing and editing trailer and announcement videos of reality shows and promoting them on TV during ad-breaks is enough to attract potential audience. In regard to the effects, most obvious one is addiction. Sometimes, the content of television programme becomes so interesting that people, especially young ones are watching to it continuously, for hours. Some people even spend their free time by watching past episodes of particular TV show. Thus, there are other types of outcomes of this problem, such as time waste and lack of concentration. As young people are tend to spend more time in front TV, this results with even some problems at academic and work life. In conclusion, TV is very useful and can be a good choice for relaxing and relieving the stress of hard work. However, it is better to spend the time efficiently, rather than watching television for a long period.