Getting promotions are one of the biggest motivators for hard work in the modern workplace. Why are people so driven to receive promotions? What other factors motivate people to work hard?

In this contemporary world, appreciation and acknowledgement in the form of promotions is considered to be the prominent boost for diligent work. Well paid salary and goodwill are some characteristics which drive persons to attain higher positions. However, there are some other alternatives of motivation towards work, which are well explained in this essay. Talking about the driving forces, lumpsum salary is one of the biggest lure of getting promoted in an organisation. As high pay is directly link to the high posts, majority of the employees are inclined towards it. It not only satisfy the materialistic needs of the concerned individual, but also give a sense of security to him. Besides, recognition of work among the colleagues is the another reason of receiving promotion. Naturally, nobody would attain respect after getting demotion at job place. It is only the promotion to next level which brings the desired fame to the person. Contrary to it flexible working hours and security services are two another major factors influencing workforces to do work more efficiently. Although employers seek for recruiting that individuals who are ready to do overtime for them, yet employees always look forward to have freedom in the working hours. It has also been found by the researchers that the people having choice of working hours at their workplace show more productive than the ones who don't have such facility. Apart from this some security services like health insurance, paternity and maternity leaves also act as push factors for working with full zeal. To conclude, promotional activities at companies is undoubtedly the most common motivating force behind doing har work as it provides financial and psychological treat to the employees. Nevertheless, flexible hours and other services are equally contributing this phenomenon.