Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people are of the view that young people must participate in voluntary work during their free hours as it is advantageous for both the society and teenagers; others do not support this view. I completely disagree with the view that children should focus on their studies rather than taking part in such activities. In this essay, I will present compelling reasons to support my view. To begin with, some parents believe that it is not mandatory for children to work during their leisure hours. Admittedly, studies play a paramount role in a child’s life as their career is dependent upon it; by participating in voluntarily services for the society can affect their academics, and they may not be able to excel. To cite an example, if a school-going student works over the weekend in some old age home, then he/she may not find enough time to study and prone to fail their exams. Hence, it becomes evident why some do not are not in favour of children working during their free time. Furthermore, school-going children already have a busy schedule and doing unpaid work would further add another responsibility. They need time to relax and focus on their hobbies or play with friends. Spending time on activities which young people prefer is a source of entertainment for them. The New York Times, for example, published that hobbies allow child to develop valuable skills which they do not learn at school and positively influences their mental well-being. To conclude, some think that unpaid community work is mandatory for adolescents. I believe that such work should not be forced upon students as their personal development is more important than anything else.