Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Education has always been the significant part of humanity that helps every individual acquire knowledge for any field and alternative perspectives which can change their approach to the world. Even though learning is the continuous process that never ends, students should get basic knowledge on simple things of life. So there should be an evaluating system that measures how well students learned about that subject. And today the system is called grade. No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects about the grades. If I were forced to choose, I would obviously say that grades really supports to work hard in school. I feel this way for main three reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs. To begin with, grading helps students to figure out the stronger areas could become their merits and the weaker areas they should put more efforts and explore. Furthermore the students who know their weaknesses, they can make a contact with their professors to get advice and make well-structured plans that are going to help them improve effectively. I have to admit my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. When I was in middle school, I used to get the lowest scores on Mongolian language class, even though it’s my mother tongue. Due to that, my teacher wanted me to stay with her after class and do additional exercises to catch up with my classmates. It had been almost 2 months and I finally hit the level I wanted to achieve. And not only that, I participated national competition on that subject and got a silver medal. As a result, now I’m pretty good at Mongolian language, and the lowest grades encouraged me start that journey. Secondly, Grades create the beneficial rivalry between students, motivates them to put more attention on studying and try to achieve more knowledge in academic level. Drawing from my own experience, my school used to take exams on subjects we learned every quarter and list down us by our scores with names. A student who got the highest scores, gets the certification of first place in front of everyone and appreciation from others. At that time, pupils used to study harder with to become one of those ranking students and teach their classmates to do better on exam from other classes. Besides that, we had a non-graded class, considered as unnecessary for students, we read article from book and talk about the main idea. Actually no one took attention on that and it was common for students forget their notebooks. Moreover, students, who have the higher scores, are more likely to get scholarship from university, because most of them have learned how to communicate with their classmates and teachers to do difficult tasks in any situations. It’s certainly clear that grades give such amazing opportunities and motivate them to study harder. Thirdly, qualified skills with high grades are going to help you to apply in the best universities. Most of the companies tend to get an employee from good university with excellent grades. On the other hand grades are the result how much you have educated and responsible for something. For example: My sister has graduated from Financial and Economy University, which is quite famous in Mongolia, with fine grades. When she graduate, a lot of good organizations suggested her to become one of their employee with great salaries. In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that grades have the significant role to encourage students to work harder while making a friendly competition, it measures their knowledge and performance.