Genetically Modified Organism

Man will have nothing as nature made it. Someone once said that "God makes all things good, but man meddles with them and becomes evil. " The invention of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) is enough evidence that man confounds conditions that should be happening naturally. What are GMOs? They are simply organisms whose DNA has been altered through modification to produce desired physical traits. The innovation comes with various benefits and some cons, which must all be analyzed before a conclusion is reached. One importance of using genetically modified organisms, particularly in plants, is that these plants can survive and grow in places experiencing unfavorable climatic conditions. The genetically modified foods have boomed in areas with frequent droughts and poor soil structures that cannot support growth. Advances in genetic modification have created crops resistant to harsh environmental conditions like Droughtgard maize (Bruetschy, 2019). According to Dr. Kuzma, ' One example of a crop meant to resist excessive flooding is a salinity-tolerant type of rice. ' This variety of rice can grow in soils with an increased saltwater content than normal. The doctor also indicated that gene editing in the U. S developed a soybean tolerant to drought and salinity. Think of farmers cultivating crops without having to bother about things like aphids? What if the same farmers are not troubled with plant pathogens and pests that cause damage to cultivated and naturally growing plants? I am talking of an event where nothing in the name of an insect prevents plants from attaining their genetic potential? Genetically modified crops are the solution to the above needs as they are naturally resistant to pests and diseases. Hollander (2018) asserts that this saves farmers from exposing plants to poisonous pesticides and herbicides, hence making them chemical-free and friendly to the environment. A normal crop can only flourish under specific favorable climatic conditions and particular seasons. Failure to meet these demands results in damage to these crops. The consumption of genetically engineered foods has been shown to affect the human body as of 2016 significantly. Based on the article "Dangers of Genetically Modified Foods" published by the Guardian, about 55%-70% of processed foods are genetically modified. In an experiment conducted by Institute for Responsible Technology, an agency against GMO advocacy, it was established that rats fed on a GMO potato for ten days had every organ system severely affected due to toxicity. How rodents respond to chemicals, foods, and drugs can predict human response as these species have been accepted as models for humans. It implies that the rats' behavior is what the human body is likely to experience if exposed to a similar GMO potato. The experimental specimen (rats) had damaged livers, which shifted to normal after introducing non-GM foods. In 2015, the World Health Organization declared Glycophosphate, a toxin that dominates GMO foods, as carcinogenic. The poison has been associated with breast cancer, Autism, and Parkinson's disease. Lastly, the use of genetically modified organisms has been associated with resistance to antibiotics. Previous studies opine that the accelerating microbial resistance to antibiotics is a properly established threat to human health. The antibiotic-resistance genes present in foods could have fatal impacts. When human beings or animals feed on these foods, the genes are transmitted to bacteria in the gastrointestinal tract. This bacteria can develop resistance to that specific antibiotic, and as a result, the antibiotic becomes ineffective in treating the humans and animals affected by the resistant bacteria. The animal pathogen or human body becomes impervious to antibiotics, especially when the resistance gene is transferred. According to Tsatsakis et al. (2017), antibiotic resistance is reaching a crescendo around the world, and it has proved to be a threat in the treatment of infections. If this happens, it could even worsen the existing health issue of antibiotic-resistant disease organisms. Conclusion Genetically modified organisms are a scientific invention that should be appreciated. When over one hundred studies were conducted to test the efficiency of GMO technology, it was revealed that chemical pesticides dropped 37%, and there was increased crop yield by 22%. One should not underestimate the profound nutritional value of foods that have been genetically modified. The advantages accrued from this type of modification outshine the cons, and I support its invention. Still, I would have even been more satisfied if genetically engineered foods, ingredients, processing aids, and food additives containing novel DNA were labeled with the words "genetically modified. "