Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Personality is a trait that represents each one of us as individual human beings. I believe our experiences and environment have more influence over us, compared to the characteristics we were born with. I’d like to believe in the saying “no person is born a criminal”, using this as the base I would like prove that the characteristics we were born with, vanishes as we enter into adolescence because kids don’t have a rigid or stable mind, they are very easy to mould or manipulate. Humans pick up traits and characteristics as they grow up, from parents, friends, teachers etc. We are all massively influenced by our society and experiences. For instance, a kid who got bullied during his schooling will learn to be strong later on due to his experiences of being weak and a bully might come to realisation that what he did was very unethical and would try to be a better person. On the flip side, there are plenty of studies being done on personality and development till this day and it is proven that humans tend to portray characteristics from their childhood even when they become adults. we can’t deny the fact that we all carry at least few characteristics and traits from the time we were born, like some people have phobias, learning disabilities, some even have the curiosity to learn and study constantly. Well in conclusion, I do agree that the characteristics we were born with have an influence on us but I don’t think it’s as effectual as the traits picked up through experience.