Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth.

People all around the world take into account the significance of genetic engineering. Although it is sometimes thought that it has numerous benefits to humanity, others are of the opinion that it could bring destruction to the ecosystem. However, my opinion on that issue is that both negative and positive effects of genetic engineering should be carefully researched and then should be used for the greater good of humanity. There are certain factors of the genetically engineering products. Firstly, crop modification will bring resistant to various plant diseases and it also targets infestation of unwanted insects. In other words, the amount of pesticides and fertiliser used are reduced. Furthermore, many countries are producing genetically engineered crops to produce a good variety of plants and abundant harvest. Genetic engineering can also address the increased food demands of people around the globe. Many diseases that human genetically inherits can be fought against with the improvement of genetic engineering and it can also ensure a generation. However, some people argue that it brings long-term effects to humanity and environment. Certain reasons for these are the concerns of human health in which most modified foods contain toxins that are harmful to us. Also, it produces a minimal amount of nutrition. Another major concern is the potential harm to the environment- once genetically modified organisms are released into the wild, it interbreeds with the native organism and creates new species that may not be desirable. Finally, in my view, it is essential to look at the positive side it brings to humanity. As the population grows, the demand for food supply is increasing, thus, the natural method cannot cope the demand of the people. In this way, scientific way of plantation and farming are fundamental in our environment. Many diseases that cause death to a large number of people could be prevented using the blessing of genetic engineering. In conclusion, there are good arguments for and against genetic engineering, so people must continue to research various methods to minimise the negative side effects of engineering products to ensure the betterment of every individual in the future.