Genetic engineering is a dangerous trend. It should be limited.

Nowadays, technological advances have focused primarily on the improvement of the genetic information of plants and animals. Genetic engineering is what scientists use to modify and alter the genetic makeup of different organisms. In this biotechnology sector, there are some benefits, but there are also downsides. Many people think that this technology has brought us a better life. Nevertheless, as society we should consider all the negative effects it has with it. Firstly, studies have shown that organisms can live longer, with the right modification process of their genes in their DNA strand. For example, after scientists discovered how to change a specific allele of a fruit, they noticed that the maturation process would take longer to end. Besides, manipulated seeds produce the same quality of food than the product that has not been modified. In fact, GMO products are environmentally friendly because of the decreasing usage of fertilizers. Hence, genetic engineering makes the life expectancy of organisms longer. On the other hand, we should look at the negative aspects of genetic engineering. This kind of technology can lead the society to side effects that not all of us are informed about. As we know, this process modified the DNA of organisms; the GMO crops could cause allergic reactions in people, or in another scenario these GMO toxins can build up in the body and may affect our blood and other body functions. Therefore, genetic engineering could be harmful for many of us, we need to take into account these side effects. In conclusion, we could notice that this discovery in science could have its benefits, if we make the right process we would have a better life. However, I believe that there are undetectable effects that we need to consider in order to be aware of the problems of the GMO products.