Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following ways of learning a foreign language. State which you considerate be the most effective. Studying by your own. Taking lessons with a private tutor. Going to live in a country where the language is spoken.

Nowadays, learning a foreign language or well knowing more than 2 languages, is more important that having a college degree. But, which are the advantages an disadvantages of the methods we use to learn a new language. Firstly, many students around the world choose to study by their own. The benefit about study alone, is that you can improve time management skills, you are the one who decides when to study and the time you are going to spend on it. On the other hand, studying by your own you wouldn’t be able to practice some skills, for example the speaking, you can try many methods but until you practice with another person, you won’t be able to improve your speaking skills. Secondly, learning different languages in courses with a class, can suit people learning style. Learn language as part of a group is a different experience, the advantage of this method is that you are not only learning from the tutor, but you are also learning from your classmates, this kind of classes can help you to improve all the skills that learning a language require. However, learning with others can be difficult, the problem is that students during these sessions get distracted with others, and it could end in a waste of time. Lastly, another method you can use is going to live in a foreign country, where the language is spoken. Most of the people that are trying to learn a new language choose this way of learning, that is because its impossible to avoid the language while you are there, you would improve your understanding of the language in an everyday life. At the same time, you would deal with communication issues, this can lead to problems since you are not able to communicate with other. To conclude, from my point of view, the best method is the third one. In short, study abroad increases your flexibility and openness to new ideas, allows you to enjoy academic and experiential learning, and deepens cross-cultural understanding while it encourages independent thinking