Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

Many argue that academic institutions should integrate the science and preparation of food in the curriculum, while others believe that schools should focus in essential subjects. While both are important in honing students to be well rounded individuals, I believe that school time should be spent in important subjects as it is vital in becoming a competent member of the society. Core subjects offered in schools such as Math, Sciences, and Literacy are necessary to function and contribute to the society. A student must be prepared to face the challenges of the world by being immersed in such subjects. For instance, an individual must know math in order to understand his or her finances. In addition, these core subjects are required to be admitted to a college or university. These courses can only be taught by teachers and professors as it is their areas of expertise. On the other hand, it is important to know the science of food, its nutritional components, and how to prepare it as food is essential in one's daily life, and without it, one cannot survive. One must be aware which foods are more beneficial to our body and which ones can create problems when taken on a daily basis. In school, these subject is taught in home economics class and partly in science courses. is also taught by our parents, friends, and relatives as preparation and preferences in food can vary by culture. In summary, study of food is important but can be acquired from family or friends. Conversely, spending school time in more important subjects such as Math, Science, and Literacy is necessary to prepare an individual for the future. It is vital that a student is equipped to face the real world and acquire knowledge and skills from professors who are experts.