GENERATION GAP IS AS OLD AS HUMANITY. WHAT ARE THE CAUSES OF GENERATION GAP? WHAT CAN BE DONE TO STRIKE A BALANCE IN THE RELATIONS WITH THE TWO GENERATIONS

The notion of the generation gap has existed for a long time but over recent years it has become more prominent in our society and is now being seen and addressed as a major problem of our society. The generation gap as stated by definition is considered as a difference between personal choices, opinions and perceptions of different generations which leads to conflicts and gaps between family members. Several causative factors, as well as the solution, shall be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To initiate with, the generation gap has created a rift in familial relationships since joint families are being disintegrated where there was a head of the family whose word has to be followed by each and every member of the family. However, nowadays, there are mostly nuclear families which result in a lack of communication and respect, dependent on gadgets at a very early stage and so on. Moreover, it has been observed that there are different opinions, experiences, beliefs and attitudes amongst parents and children which creates misunderstanding between them because of the rapid changes in the society as well as the life’s expectations have been increased lately. To counter such issues, both parents and children should be willing to learn and accept with the help of realization along with a high level of understanding so that they shall be able to discuss their own experiences whether funny or sad. Accordingly, they should spend time with each other by creating fun and enjoyable activities which can aid to create an emotional bond. To incapsulate, by acquiring the path least resistance, different generations can diminish this yawning gap between them which aids them to respect each other. Additionally, they should be accomplished to accept their determination, reliance through proper communication.