Full time university students spend most of the time studying. They should be doing other activities too. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The stages of life require difficult choices, and university lifestyle is an example of a situation that requires challenging decisions. Most students either fall into one of two camps: unwavering focus on studying or participation in out-of-class explorations. If a firm choice between the two camps must be made, a student should stick to the books because that is what is required for a high GPA and better opportunities. Despite the desire to participate in outside activities, university students must only focus on their coursework because a high GPA requires dedicated effort. The reading requirements for GPA excellence require a significant amount of course time invested in those areas. A highly intelligent colleague of mine played sports, participated in multiple clubs, and ended his college career with a 2. 0 average because he could not keep up with course readings. As this example informs us, doing other activities cannot outweigh utilizing all of the available time to study since the results would be a low GPA. Notwithstanding the previous argument, group study time with classmates necessitates a sole focus on coursework. A student can have five different study groups that meet each week and participating in outside labors diminishes group availability, thereby decreasing a GPA. Reading and group study requirements to attain a high GPA demonstrate why time must not be wasted outside of the classroom. Both a higher GPA and better opportunities result from uninterrupted and uncompromised studying time. When a student utilizes their free time solely for studying, they often encounter unexpected beneficial opportunities. For example, that dedicated time to study groups often leads to networking opportunities that result in jobs after graduation. If a student were playing around by participating in intramural sports or volunteer school plays, they would completely miss out on these job possibilities. While some might only consider after graduation job offers, we have to also consider the internship (jobs) chances the come from withholding from frivolous non-studying activities. Professors often choose the students with the best study habits to work for them on their research projects, which later on lead to future windows of employment opportunity. As we can conclude, utilizing time for any endeavor outside of studying is wasteful as it prevents acquiring a high GPA and opportunities that only dedication to studying can provide. While there may be arguments to support a different position, those arguments are not persuasive. The best recommendation is for a student to solely focus on their coursework.