More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Many wildlife species are on the brink of destruction and several of them are seriously threatened on record. There are numerous reasons for this devastation, notably, loss of habitat and rapid urbanization. Solution to avoid such situation can be to discourage farming on forest lands and create more sanctuaries by legislating strict land distribution rules. The current challenge faced in protection of wild species are, mainly, rampant exploitation of their habitat and extreme urban encroachment of forests because of industrial and residential projects. Sustenance farming has pushed tribal farmers to encroach and clear forestry in addition to their reliance on timber and nourishment. Furthermore, heavy investment in the real estate sector and large grants of land parcels for industrial development has significantly contributed to the annihilation of animal habitat. On the other hand, such irresponsible growth has put rare species of wildlife on the border of disappearance. In order to address such a critical situation, firstly, government should involve and approach communities living near forest areas and provide alternative livelihood for the sustenance farmers such as offering jobs like forest guards or tour guides. Secondly, more sanctuaries for wild animals must be demarcated, for example the Kaziranga national park in north-east India which will help in better forest management. Finally, legislations have to be made to ensure stringent compliance in allocating land parcels for urban development. To conclude, since many wild animals face an imminent existential threat from farming as well as disorganized urbanization of forest lands, the solution can be to provide alternative opportunities for people who rely on forest habitats and create more sanctuaries by restricting land allocation for commercial growth.