From equality to global poverty: the Covid-19 effects on societies and economies.

The Covid-19 pandemic is a social and an economic crisis just as much as it is a health one - its repercussions, severe and far-reaching, are being felt across the world. In my opinion, I totally agree with the article that the Covid-19 effects on societies and economies. The Covid-19 has led to a dramatic loss of human life and presents an unprecedented challenge to public health, food systems and the world of work. The economic and social disruption caused by the pandemic is devastating: tens of millions of people are at risk of falling into extreme poverty, while the number of undernourished people, currently estimated at nearly 690 million, could increase up to 132 million by the end of this year. To slow the spread of the virus, businesses closed across the world. One year into the pandemic, many workers are at risk of losing their livelihoods. Informal economy workers are particularly vulnerable because the majority lack social protection, access to quality health care and have lost access to productive assets. Without the permission to make money during lockdowns, they are unable to feed themselves and their families. Furthermore, almost half of the world’s students are affected by school closures. From school closures to devastated industries and millions of jobs lost - the social and economic costs of the pandemic are many and varied. Whether through job losses or school closures, the pandemic threatens to undo decades of progress on gender equality. Covid-19 has been slowing down progress on clean energy too, at least temporarily, by curbing investments and delaying the expansion of clean energy technologies. There has been some positive climate news: global energy-related CO2 emissions fell by 5. 8% in 2020. But that’s only a short-term effect of lockdowns, not a considerable change. In fact, emissions are expected to rise by 4. 8% in 2021, as the demand for coal, oil and gas rebounds with the economy. In conclusion, no epidemic is ever just a health issue in isolation, and Covid-19 has emphasised this on the global stage. The best solution is to stop this damage from happening, through the use of tests, treatments and vaccines everywhere they’re needed.