Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Of late, there has been a humongous demand for fresh aqua, in contrast with its decreasing natural level. This has now become a serious matter for all governments around the world, the below paragraph will try to elucidate the reasons for the problem and propose handful remedies to overcome this problem. To commence with the reasons for shortage of fresh water. First and foremost, the main reason is the overpopulation in the metropolitan areas. As a result, the global phenomenon of urbanization has led to the global surge in potable water requirement. Secondly, increased pollution of natural fresh water reserves due to urbanisation and industrialization has compounded this demand. In fact, since the beginning of industrialization, fresh water from rivers and lakes has been increasingly used for manufacturing processes such as chemical reactions, cleaning toxic equipments and so on. Furthermore, in modern times, the growing use of salt free water for activities like recreational swimming, have also catalysed the surge in global water demand. For instance, swimming pools at home, theme parks, and resorts use an avalanche of water. Therefore, water scarcity has risen and is now a global problem. Undoubtedly, every lock has a key, similar some solution should be implemented. First of all, national authorities, can control this surge by implementing public education schemes regarding controlled water usage. Therefore, Strict national legislations for preventing natural fresh water reserve pollution are also required. Moreover, the government should also set up infrastructure for purification of seawater into saline free water, which will help in meeting the growing requirement of fresh water. A good example is UAE where desalination plants have been used for many years to provide fresh drinking water. Similarly, the public can also contribute towards this noble cause by conserving water and also by limiting their daily household water usage. They should refrain themselves from performing activities that will pollute natural fresh water reserves. In conclusion, even though, the scarcity of fresh water is a growing global problem, there are various means and methods available, by which both the government and individuals can prevent this from worsening.