Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Recently, the discussion on the fresh water has become heated. The globally increasing demand might because of the affluence and the environment. Affluence might be a crucial cause for the growing demand for fresh water. Because of the economic development, many cities in some developing countries are becoming more affluent, for example, Shanxi and Shenzhen in China. Since those people may suffer from tough lives before, they might try to feel rich by not cherishing the daily resources for their vanity. As a result of it, this might increase the demand for fresh water. Secondly, the global warming may also be a factor to this problem. Since many countries around the world live on agriculture, like Japan and Thailand, they rely on the harvest. As the weather might be fluctuating, the farmer needs to nourish the crops with fresh water to ensure its growth. Because of the global warming, the raining days are getting relatively less than before, therefore, the demand for fresh water would be increased. In order to solve these problems, the government can educate the public to cherish the natural resources as it can help us to save more fresh water in long terms. Besides, government can promote density farming as well as it requires less water for growing same amount of crops. To summarise, the increasing needs for fresh water may because people are no longer cherish these resources after getting affluence, the basic needs of the agriculture as well. By analysing this problem, I think what governments are doing is actually directly linked to the future needs to fresh water.