Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

It is undeniable that water scarcity is becoming a worldwide problem. The growth of population is the main reason for this alarming trend, but some measures could be taken to tackle this predicament. One the one hand, the pressure of the growing population on water resources could lead to the shortage of it. Increase number of population lead to an increased water demand in three sectors namely Agriculture, Industry and households. Firstly, from an agricultural perspective, irrigation consumes a large amount of water. Also, Agricultural industry could pollute the rest of the water by chemical compounds that used in farming like pesticides. Secondly, the industries and factories use a huge amount of water in their process. For instance, some research revealed that meat processing industry could be the main cause of water shortage in some regions of the UK. Finally, water used for household purposes could be another consequence of growth number of population and ultimately could lead to water demand. On the other hand, there are two main solutions to solve the problems described above. One solution is that water recycling could play an important role in water conservation. Governments should build new water pipes system for recycling and should encourage people to use recycled water. Another solution is to remove salts from sea water to enable people to use it. This process called desalination. It is now used in many countries like the USA and achieved their goal. In conclusion, water demand is a global problem caused mainly by the growth of population number and governments and people should be cooperated to solve this issue.