Fossil fuels have been the main driver of economic growth for the last 100 hundred years. Explain how fossil fuels have achieved this, outline the main problems their use causes, and suggest alternative solutions.

These days, large numbers of people have been increasingly concerned about the use of fossil fuels. This essay will explain why we use them, the problems they are leading to, and some possible solutions. To start with there are several reasons why fossil fuels have become so important. In fact, in the form of oil, coal, and natural gas fossil fuels power everything from factories and power plants to transportation. They are even used to make many household products like plastic. But the most dramatic has been petroleum. Without this, the modern car-based society would not exist. However, there constant use has caused a number of problems. The most obvious one is pollution. Air quality in most large cities is terrible, and causing lots of health problems, especially among children. It is so bad people that in Beijing people can actually buy bottled fresh air imported from Canada. A related problem are the plastics and other products made from fossil fuels. Since they do not biodegrade, plastic has contaminated the environment now threatens sea life all around the world. Finally, burning fossil fuels releases carbon dioxide, which is a key cause of climate change. So what can we do to stop using fossil fuels since they’re such an important part of our life? The main solution is alternative energy. Producing electricity from solar and wind power will dramatically reduce the need for fossil fuels. However, it is insufficient. The second solution is replacing cars and trucks that are dependent on fuel with electric ones. Similarly, there are also greener alternatives to plastics. For example, The Lego company recently started a new research facility to develop a better greener alternative for their lego bricks. In conclusion, although fossil fuels have been vital to our societies, their use is starting to decline. I believe that in the future, we will continue to shift to alternative forms of energy production and fuel use.