Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources is encouraged.

For a score of years, fossil fuel has always been upheld as the primary source of energy that humanity has extracted and used regularly. Nevertheless, recent decades have witnessed radical and drastic changes to the methods of cultivating energy in various nations worldwide. From a personal viewpoint, I would account for the changes by considering their merits and demerits. On the one hand, fossil fuel by itself has done more harm than good to the ozone layer. As industrial companies release noxious pollutants into atmosphere, the ozone will be thinned and depleted if these harmful gasses are not governed thoroughly. To this end, renewable energy sources that are sufficient enough to power myriad households and crowded cities are being more prevalent as opposed to their popularity in the past. For instance, the advancement of nuclear energy nowadays is noteworthy in terms of safety and efficiency. Therefore, fossil fuel pales in comparison with nuclear power or other sort of renewable sources. On the contrary, the notion of using other energy sources instigates troublesome issues that cannot be counterbalanced by benefits. The exorbitant cost to maintain is the first and foremost problem that reduced the sources eventually great values. Especially without adequate understanding, lots of irreversible problems will register during the course of usage, rendering nations in debt. In addition, cursory knowledge of the aforementioned source will risk the lives of civilians. In spite of the fact that numerous attempts have been made to safeguard people from unpredictable accidents, not every trouble can be foreshadowed due to the complexity of such energy source. Should there be any incidents pertain to deficits in maintaining, the whole region where the energy factory is placed will not be livable. In conclusion, no impeccable sources other than fossil fuel can be eco-friendly, efficient and not jeopardize spontaneously. However, if used correctly and taken into account carefully, some of the reusable sources can gain traction in foreseeable future.