Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. with this statement?

University examination, such as theory or practical, can give a correct evidence of student's level of knowledge and abilities at the university level, while continuous evaluation strike course work and project are less effective methods to measure students capabilities. I agree to this statement for a number of reasons. To begin with, continuous examination have a number of flaws. Firstly, while preparing projects and assignment students have to refer books in order to get enough knowledge. This would mean, that they are using knowledge from the texts and outside resources to generate ideas rather than their own. Secondly, this evaluation might be dependent on teachers prejudice towards students. There for, students to not get an apt review even if they prepared well. So, project work and sessional examination are least capable for assessing their abilities. However, university examination or board examination are more efficient for evaluating students intelligence. It is because, most of the university examination are held under examination control board which has standard guidelines. Hence, there is no bias of teacher's partiality towards children. All children are assessed for standard parameters. So, formal examination is good for evaluating a student rather than having continuous assessment. In conclusion, continuous evaluation itself can have certain negative effects like using knowledge from other sources and teachers partiality. Hence, I believe the projects and assignments are poor measures of students ability.