Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. with this statement?

Students are evaluated on the basis of various forms of examination throughout their academics. It is argued that the traditional pattern of conducting exam is considered to be a reasonable method to figure out a student's ability whereas frequent tests which include assignments are not an ideal way. I somehow agree with the latter part of the argument however, both have their merits and demerits to some extent. To begin with, students have been accustomed to study at the end of the academic year and therefore, they do not lay much emphasis on the session during the entire semester. This has resulted in a lack of focus and a habit of studying at the last time despite they get enough time to enjoy with not enough burden. Consequently, their grasp on the topics is not much due to their late back attitude. For example, someone preparing a day before the examination will only study with the purpose of passing rather than having an intent of better understanding. On the contrary, regular assignments and projects will keep them in touch with their syllabus. This will certainly, enhance their knowledge about their academics in an interactive methodology. For instance, a group of students engaging in a weekly group project would learn better and would develop an interest in their academics. To sum up, the continuous assessment would be considered an effective method of learning than the formal way of giving an exam at the end of the semester. Although, the later pattern serves benefit in terms of giving enough time to enjoy, but, the demerits outweigh the merits.