Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports.

Almost all governments, across the globe, have a yearly budget to distribute money for various activities. I agree that governments should allocate a higher budget for education compared to recreation and sports. This can be proven by analyzing, how spending more money on education can reduce the unemployment rate as well as decrease the crime rate and can positively enhance people’s living standards. If more people are educated in a country, it is apparent that the employment rate of that nation will be high, as there are a lot of skilled employments available throughout the world. But to have many people educated, the governments should provide a good education system which is affordable for the citizens. For example, as per the report published in the Week magazine in August 2015, America has a very less unemployment rate as the government provides the best quality education to the citizens at a very minimal fee. Thus, it is obvious that the government should focus on spending more on the education sector. Recreation and sports activities are also important for people but education has far better importance. As society has more social knowledge, the crime rate will be reduced. This is because education creates a positive mentality among the people. For instance, as per the BBC report telecasted in January 2015, Nigeria has a crime rate that is 20 times more than the USA. Therefore it is the responsibility of the governments to ensure that the citizens are educated by providing adequate infrastructure. In addition to that, governments should even make secondary education free and mandatory. Hence it is very clear that governments must allocate a higher budget for education. Sports and other recreation can improve people’s life standard but what benefits it can bring when people have poverty and they are engaging in crime? By analyzing how allocating more money for education can increase the employment rate and make the earth a safer place to live, governments must allocate a higher percentage of the budget on education. It is predicted that importance is given to recreation and sports as well, but not at the cost of education.