Forests throughout the world are shrinking fast. What are the causes, effects and solutions to this problem.

In the contemporary era, it is seen around the world that forests are diminishing by leaps and bounds. This essay will discuss the prominent causes including non-stop colonization and irresponsible part played by government. This will also throw light on the effects caused by the clearing of trees and will suggest plausible solutions. There are two critical reasons that are contributing to the social evil. The construction of houses and colonise are rapidly swallowing away the forests. For example the increasing population needs shelter in the form of houses thus are clearing the forest area. Another triggering reason is that governments are not serious about the fact that according to the UNO recommendations about 25% of the land should be under forest. There are a myriad of serious threats taking place. Firstly, global warming is increasing at an alarming rate causing damage to both the animals and the plants. This is due to rise in the carbon dioxide level. Secondly, the soil is becoming barren and infertile to the crops and at the same time causing beasts to be homeless. Thirdly, serious effects are seen on the physical and psychological health of humans. Thus, planet is suffering only because of the insatiable greed of humans. There is an urgent and serious need to take crucial steps. Firstly, the houses can be built in vertical direction to avoid encroachment of forests. Secondly, the government has to take sincere steps to make strict laws that can be implemented seriously. For example, timber poachers should be dealt with heavy hand. Humans need to understand that nature has much to satisfy its needs but not its greed. In conclusion, clearing of the forest is taking place at a rapid speed. This essay discussed the main reasons that are causing harm to the beautiful creation of god and the effects on the biodiversity and humans. This essay also suggested some ways in which the issue can be curbed.