Forests are the lungs of the earth. Destruction of the world's forests amounts to death of the world we currently know.

Environmental studies have established that in order to maintain ecological balance, forests must be preserved, as they are vital for the existence of every living being on earth. Deforestation (= the act of clearing forests) will lead to global warming and disturb the climatic conditions the world over. This essay asserts that the destruction of flora may prove to be fatal, as forests are a vital part of the ecology of the planet. To begin with, several researchers argue that at least 20% of the land area of the earth must be covered by forest; but what is seen today is the systematic destruction of extensive areas of forests. For example, it is a known fact that the size of the Amazon rain forests being destroyed every minute is equivalent to a football stadium. Thus, indiscriminate felling of trees should be regulated by the government. Moreover, by absorbing carbon dioxide and releasing oxygen into the atmosphere, trees function as the lungs of the earth. It is this process, known as photosynthesis, that maintains the level of life sustaining oxygen in the atmosphere. Besides, forests are instrumental in causing rain without which the climatic conditions of the earth would be upset, and it would be desertified. Also, forests help to retain water and check soil erosion. Forests sustain the fertility of soil which is of great importance for agriculture. In the in-depth analysis, forests play a vital role in preserving life on earth in a variety of ways. As such, their indiscriminate destruction would result in great global crisis. Overall, it is plants that inhale the hoxious carbon dioxid and exhale the inevitable oxygen for the survival of the inhabitants on this planet. This universe will cease to exist unless the harmony of nature is retained in its pristine condition