Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Historical data of a criminal is not available to the jury in British and Australian laws and because of this the person who has done the wrong doing can get away easily. Numerous requests have been received to change the way of conducting to make it more fairness. This essay agrees that there should be an opportunity to review the background of the defendant as it assist to judge and provide a proper penalty and it will set as an example to reduce the crime rate. At a court proceeding it is very crucial to have a proper examining of both parties case details as it can lead to unpleasantness if a wrong judgement is granted. Hence, after review of all the evidence the jury may provide a fair suggestions to the judge for any punishment. For instance, there was a newspaper article about a murder case and the police were able to do justice due to they had past records of that criminal. Secondly, it sets out a message to the society as 'you can not get away by committing a crime' as all the records will be kept and monitored by the authorities. Furthermore, the criminals will also think twice before action something wrong which will reduce the rate of crime. For example, the survey conducted by the Sri Lanka Police officials from the public their results came positive as the law has given correct order to the criminals. To conclude, the past details of a criminal is very important to decide on the punishment that person should get and this will create awareness to the public to avoid crime. This development is seen as a positive which can be implemented in law.