For today s middle aged adults it would be difficult to imagine life without the internet For children and younger adults the internet has always been so universally present that not having it would simply be unimaginable Clearly the internet has changed

The reading passage and lecture both talks about the effects of internet in our life. The reading passage implies that internet is making us more dumber. On the contrarary, the proffessor raises dispute against passage’s former claim and asserts that internet is actually help us to develop in more positive manner. Furthermore, she continues that after the emergence of inetrnet, there have been whopping increase in people’s IQ by about 10 points. The first imperative reason stated in the reading passage is that people aren’t actually expressing their idea. With the plethora of information available on the internet, we are easily influenced by other people’s opinion and has adveresly affected our risk taking abilities. Proffessor on the other hand argues that with the advent of internet, students are now aware of different traditions and cultures being followed accross the globe without actually visiting those places. The reading passage bolsters its main thesis statement by stating the fact that overusage of internet had diminished people’s capacity to focus and concentrate. The lecturer subscribes to the opposite view point by positing that nowadays there have been significant enhancement in people’s ability to focus on multiple activities simulataneously. She illustrates by the example that about 30 years back, parents used to easily lose their thought process whenever their child distrubed them by crying. But in today’s era, parents are easily able to able to focus back on their work. Therefore, lecturer maintains that people are nowadays multitasking and are able to focus on mutliple things simulataneously.