Food and health. What is a healthy diet?

Health is the most important thing in our life. Eating also relates to our body. When we are eating well, the state of our health is also well balanced. That is the main role of healthy eating in our lives. A healthy, balanced diet includes a variety of food in the right proportions that gives you the nutrients you need to maintain your health, feel good, and have energy. These nutrients are vitamins, minerals, fibre, protein, carbohydrates, fat, and water. Moreover, drawing up a diet, we should take into consideration that a good diet contains daily servings from each of the basic food groups: meat, vegetables and fruit, fish, bread and cereals. Of course, every person makes a diet according to taste preferences, health state, goals, work schedule. But there are some common features that should be followed. At first, it is essential to eat at least five portions of fruit and vegetables every day. They are the source of vitamins, minerals and fibre. You can have them as a snack, as a dessert to remove sweets and sugar or add them to yoghurt or cereals at breakfast. Our bodies need fibre to feel less hungry. It can be found in starchy foods like potatoes, bread, rice or pasta. Such products fill us up, so we eat less of the wrong kinds of food. To get protein it is needed to consume milk and dairy products but choose lower-fat, unsweetened, calcium-fortified versions. They contain calcium, which helps keep your bones healthy. Today many people are lactose intolerant, but still, there are dairy alternatives, such as soya drinks. Beans, pulses, fish, eggs, meat are also good sources of protein vitamins and minerals. It's important to get most of fat from unsaturated oils and spreads. All types of fat are high in energy and should be eaten in small amounts. Most of us eat without realising what our food consists of, but a combination of the wrong sorts of food can cause illnesses. Fast food and junk food are high in additives, salt, sugar, fat content and calories. Chemical additives in food certainly make it even tastier, more attractive to look at and maintain the shelf life. But the nutrient inside fast food is not enough for human nutrition. Furthermore, diseases like obesity, diabetes, hypertension, cancer and other chronic diseases are highly related to fast food and junk food. It sounds pretty scary. Therefore, to avoid all of that, we should cut down on saturated fat, sugar, soft drinks, eat less salty and fried food and, of course, exclude fast food. By eating well you are strengthening your body and giving it proper nutrients to defend in a time of infection. But that's not all. If your goal is to lose weight, it's better to combine a healthy diet and physical activity. As for me, I try to stick to eating healthy, but it doesn't always work. I would like to eat more vegetables and replace sweets with fruits. From time to time, I can eat junk and fried food. I believe that sometimes it is still acceptable to allow you to eat what you want. Nevertheless, eating well is an excellent way to help your body stay strong and healthy when you combined it with being physically active and maintaining a healthy weight.