FISHING RELATIONS BETWEEN UK AND THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brexit has caused huge losses in the fishing industry. It is estimated that the fishing industry will lose more than £300 million by 2026 if the situation continues along the same lines. Therefore, it could be determined that the fisheries relations that United Kingdom has with the European Union are of great relevance. This essay will investigate why this sector has been severely affected by the exit from the European Union in order to discover what could be the causes of such a serious impact on a sector with an abundance of natural resources. Following Brexit, the EU and the UK have agreed a transition period for the fishing industry from 2021 to 2026. During this period, the fishing quota for EU vessels in British waters will be progressively reduced, and vice versa. However, in order to fish during those years, a permit must be obtained from the country where the waters are located. According to the agreement, evidence that the vessel has previously fished in those waters is required. Because of the ambiguity of the text, countries can determine what is necessary to justify this. That's where the problem lies! The UK is being much more demanding than other countries, such as France, in granting fishing permits in the waters of the Channel Islands. In this area, there are abundant marine resources traditionally shared by British and Welsh vessels. The UK's requirement to provide details of exactly where they have carried out their activity can only be done if the vessel has a GPS system. Normalmente, that system is only available to large vessels, so small vessels do not have the necessary evidence to have their application accepted. Due to this shortage of permits granted by the UK government, France has decided to respond by increasing controls on goods from the former EU member state. This has led to longer waiting times and, as a consequence, to the fish rotting. The possibility of going to other EU ports is unfeasible. British vessels can only land in ports for foreign vessels as they are not members of the EU, so waiting times in these ports are also much longer. In addition, the UK's largest importer in this sector is France, so it would be optimal to unload in the country of destination. As a result, exports from the UK plummeted substantially. Seafood exports fell by 74% and salmon exports by a staggering 80% in January and February 2021. In response to this, fishermen have decided to freeze their catch to prevent spoilage. But at the same time, the value of their products has decreased as fresh fish is better valued in the market than frozen fish. Moreover, the fishing industry was a clearly pro-Brexit sector. During the election campaign, the current prime minister advocated regaining control of fishing waters. This would allow fishermen to increase their catch. However, even though the EU is their main client in this sector, they did not take into account the customs restrictions that the EU could impose on them. These EU measures have caused great losses for the fishermen, not only because of the deterioration or devaluation of the products, but also because of the long waiting times and paperwork at the border. As a consequence, the fishing population is very disillusioned and feels a sense of betrayal due to the unfulfilled promises of their government. In conclusion, the ambiguity of a legal text has caused each country to interpret it as it sees fit and this has led to disputes between states. The shortage of permits granted by the British government has been the cause of the EU's increased barriers to entry for British fish, and as a consequence, the unsustainable increase in the sector's losses. A sector that firmly believed in Brexit as a way of regaining control over its waters. It has achieved its goal, but the consequences of this were not assessed. Now the British government has increased the power to decide who fishes in its territory, but the difficulties in selling the products to its main international clients have also increased. Will the Anglo-Saxon government be willing to share its natural resources? Or will it prefer that its fishermen face huge losses due to the barriers to entry into the EU?