Fintech in Banking sector

“Banking is necessary; banks are not” said Bill gates--a founder of Microsoft Corporation-- and it seems to be coming true. The ongoing shock induced by Covid-19 is fueling the movement towards fully-fledged digital banking. Fintech can play a crucial role in pushing traditional banking sector into the smart anduser-friendly banking. FinTech or Financial technologies-- Internet of Things, Block chain Technology, virtual reality (VR), Machine Learning, Robo advice, Smart contracts and Cloud computing--- aim to compete with traditional financial methods in the delivery of financial services. It is a new industry that uses technology to improve activities in finance by reducing cycle time and costs of services and by improving the quality of services. Fintech has the capability to automate traditional financial activities substantially. Retail financial activities such as granting of loans or approval of an insurance proposal require verification of the applications using standardized techniques. The fact that Fintech can automate these verification processes immediately reduces the time to sell a financial product significantly and, thus, improves the satisfaction of customers. Despite having myriad benefits of it, a tiny number of challenges remain in Fintech. Infrastructural barriers— the lack of smartphone penetration in market, High speed Internet across the country, user-friendly software, adequate ATM Booth--are among the most crucial issues in terms of adopting Fintech in Banking sector. A number of account holders in Banks hold an adverse perception regarding Internet Banking, and a large segment of traditional customers prefer paper money and receipts over e-documents for their ignorance and weakness in English language -- a fact that hampers the implementation of techno based Banking system entirely. With encouragements and direction from the regulators, the financial services institutions of Bangladesh would embrace and adopt Fintech in their transformation journey. The authority concerned must sit with experts and stake holders of banking sectors to address the significant issues and accelerate the inclusion of Fintech in the whole banking sector.